Padma Award 2021

Padma Awards are one of the highest civilian honors of India, which is conferred by the President of India at Rashtrapati Bhavan usually around March/ April every year during ceremonial functions.

There are three categories of the award: Padma Vibhushan awarded for exceptional and distinguished service, Padma Bhushan - distinguished service of higher-order, and Padma Shri for distinguished service.

‘Padma Awards are one of India’s highest civilian honors, which are conferred by the President of India annually. 119 Padma Awards have been approved this year among which 10 belong to doctors. After the wake of the pandemic last year 2020, the ball game of COVID-19 has etched the crucial role of our doctors who worked as front-line warriors to save millions of lives.’

Padma Vibhushan Award

Dr. Belle Monappa Hegde - Karnataka : An 82-year-old leading cardiologist and educator, is awarded the Padma Vibhushan Award for his contributions to the field of medicine. He is well known for his holistic treatment approach i.e., combining various forms of medicine - Ayurveda, and allopathy. Dr. Hegde often points not to meddle with the body's self-mechanism unless required.

Padma Shri Award

Dr. Rattan Lal Mittal - Punjab : Former Professor and Head of Orthopaedic Department at Government Medical College, Patiala, have performed rare clubfoot surgeries at free of cost. He is awarded the Padma Shri award for his 60 years of hard work towards these severe, rigid

Dr. Chandrakant Sambhaji Pandav - Delhi : Retired professor in community medicine at AIIMS, is a member of the National Council on India's Nutritional Challenges under Poshan Abhiyaan.

Dr. J N Pande (Posthumous) - Delhi : An eminent pulmonologist and former head of the department of medicine at AIIMS. Dr.Pande died at the age of 79 in May 2020 due to Covid-19. He was the epitome of the coexistence of knowledge and humility apart from being an excellent human being.

Dr. Krishna Mohan Pathi - Odisha: An orthopedic surgeon known for his landmark work in tribal districts of the State.

Dr. Dhananjay Diwakar Sagdeo - Kerala : Native of Maharastra but dweller of Wayanad for decades, Dr. Dhananjay Diwakar Sagdeo deserves the Padma Shri award for his selfless service and invaluable contributions to people, especially tribals, in Wayanad.

Shri Ashok Kumar Sahu - Uttar Pradesh : Rescuing youth from the snare of misery through the underpinning of the Dhamma Kalyan Kanpur International Vipassana Sadhana Kendra for true serenity and otherworldliness, Sahu has made equivalent to his motivation of life.

Dr. Bhupendra Kumar Singh Sanjay - Uttarakhand : World-eminent muscular specialist and a charioteer of a general wellbeing effort, the name of Dr. Bhupendra Kumar Singh Sanjay is additionally recorded in Limca and Guinness Book of World Records for his amazing accomplishments in the field of a medical procedure.

Dr. Dilip Kumar Singh - Bihar : A novel General medication/inward medication Doctor, who is granted Padma Shri in spite of his not so notable name. Be that as it may, this 92-year-old specialist is very notable for his consistent undertaking towards patient's consideration who actually treats patients consistently not by endorsing drugs, but instead gives it in "Pudia".

Dr. Thiruvengadam Veeraraghavan (Posthumous) - Tamil Nadu : Popularly known as "the two rupee specialist", Dr. Thiruvengadam Veeraraghavan who passed on in August 2020 at 70 years old, has taken special care of patients from north Chennai.