Award news

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has declared the 17 champs of the 48th Student Academy Awards contest. The current year's champs were decided on from a gathering of 1,404 entries from 210 homegrown and 126 worldwide schools and colleges. Past Student Academy Award victors incorporate Patricia Cardoso, Cary Fukunaga, Spike Lee, Patricia Riggen and Robert Zemeckis.

The gold, silver and bronze honors across the seven classifications will be introduced by chiefs Pete Docter ("Soul," "Back to front"), Asghar Farhadi ("A Hero," "The Salesman"), Marielle Heller ("A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood," "Can You Ever Forgive Me?") and Nanfu Wang ("In the Same Breath," "One Child Nation"). The Academy will hold a virtual program to respect the victors. Amandla Stenberg will have.

Alternative/Experimental (Domestic and International Film Schools)

Gold: “Frozen Out,” Hao Zhou, University of Iowa

Animation (Domestic Film Schools)

Gold: “Unforgotten,” Sujin Kim, California Institute of the Arts

Silver: “Barking Orders,” Alexander Tullo, Ringling College of Art & Design

Bronze: “Slumber with Snakes,” Teagan Barrone, Cleveland Institute of Art

Animation (International Film Schools)

Gold: “Les Chaussures de Louis,” Théo Jamin, Kayu Leung and Marion Philippe, MoPA (France)

Documentary (Domestic Film Schools)

Gold: “When They’re Gone,” Kristen Hwang, University of California, Berkeley

Silver: “Eagles Rest in Liangshan,” Bohao Liu, New York University

Bronze: “Not Just a Name,” De’Onna Young-Stephens, University of Southern California

Documentary (International Film Schools)

Gold: “Why Didn’t You Stay for Me?,” Milou Gevers, Nederlandse Filmacademie (The Netherlands)

Narrative (Domestic Film Schools)

Gold: “When the Sun Sets,” Phumi Morare, Chapman University

Silver: “Close Ties to Home Country,” Akanksha Cruczynski, Columbia College Chicago

Bronze: “No Law, No Heaven,” Kristi Hoi, University of California, Los Angeles

Narrative (International Film Schools)

Gold: “Tala’vision,” Murad Abu Eisheh, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (Germany)

Silver: “Adisa,” Simon Denda, Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München (Germany)

Bronze: “Bad Omen,” Salar Pashtoonyar, York University (Canada)